The International Organisation of Multiple Sclerosis Nurses (IOMSN) was established at the Consortium of MS Centres’ meeting in Canada.  Kaye Cameron from Australia attended that meeting and became one of the founding IOMSN Board members.


MS Nurses Australia (MSNA) is established by Kaye Cameron and Judy Wollin. Members include RN’s caring for people with MS, nurses practising in hospitals, community settings and care facilities around Australia.


MSNA became an official affiliate with IOMSN.  Members of MSNA are recognised as members of IOMSN, acquiring all the benefits of IOMSN membership.2001: Membership grew to 55 and MSNA is registered as an Incorporated Body with Queensland Fair Trading Board.

  • Judy Wollin and Kaye Hooper (nee Cameron) co-wrote a one semester unit ‘Nursing the person with MS’.  The subject became a course offering at Queensland University of Technology from July 2001
  • Combined meeting of IOMSN and International Federation of MS Societies (IFMSS) held in Melbourne Australia
  • Australian Neuroscience Nurses Association (ANNA) conference is held at Fraser Island.  A paper is presented by MSNA Board officers


MSNA is publicised as a ‘New Network for Australia’s MS Nurses’ throughout Australian MS Societies.


Inaugural MSNA Annual Conference is held in Brisbane Australia. Harriet Chan establishes ‘Certificate of Multiple Sclerosis Nursing’ course offered at Curtain University and WA Department of Health.


Australian MS Nursing Manual 1st edition launched.


“Nursing the person with MS” course commenced at Griffith University.


Victorian based MS Health Professionals Network (MSHPN) becomes an official affiliate of MSNA. ‘Certificate of MS Nursing’ offered at Curtin University and WA Department of Health.


Australian MS Nursing Manual 2nd edition is launched. Launch of MSNA Inc website.


MS Nurses Australia Inc becomes MS Nurses Australasia Inc to recognise the significant partnership, contribution and collaboration with our New Zealand colleagues. MSNA Inc would warmly welcome new members from Asia-Pacific MS Nurses.


MS Nurse of the Year Award is launched. Won by Dr Therese Burke AM


Overall Best Presentation award renamed in honour of Louise Kurczycki.